Workers Compensation Section

Activities and accomplishments:

The section held its 26th Annual Meeting on May 16, 2008, at the Salishan Lodge at Gleneden Beach, Oregon. At the meeting, the section elected the following officers and members-at-large to serve on the Executive Committee:

Officers:

Matthew Roy – Chair Matthew Fisher – Chair Elect Julie Masters – Treasurer Dale Johnson – Secretary Holly Somers – Past Chair

Members-at-Large:

James L. Edmunson Rob Guarassi Jacqueline Jacobson Dale Johnson Dean Lederer Chuck Mundorff Jill Reichers Jennifer Roumell Adam Stamper Arthur Stevens, III

Dennis VavRosky

The meeting was held in conjunction with a two-day seminar. The seminar was approved for 9 ½ MCLE credits. The program included various legal and medical speakers covering topics relevant to practitioners of workers' compensation on both sides of the Bar.

The section also sponsored a Bench/Bar Ethics CLE on November 14, 2008, free of charge to its members. The conference covered two hours of discussion regarding ethical dilemmas faced by practitioners of workers' compensation law and one hour of access of justice credit. The CLE was held at the Willamette Valley Vineyards in Turner, Oregon.

Budget:

The executive committee has approved the section's budget for 2009. Generally, the largest expenditures relate to the seminars sponsored by the section.

Recommendations for 2009:

The executive committee will continue with monthly meetings held in accordance with the section bylaws. The standing committees will continue to meet on an as-needed basis to function with the following general goals:

Legislative/Rules:

Monitor proposed and potential legislation and rules under the Board and Department; provide advice to the committee regarding the advisability of proposed legislation or rule changes, and review current workers' compensation laws to keep the committee apprised of new developments.

Professionalism:

Advance the interests of section members by sponsoring seminars and programs dealing with professionalism and ethics; consider means by which the section can improve relations between the membership and those providing services to injured workers and employers, clients and members of the public. The goal for 2009 is to put on at least one Bench/Bar ethics CLE at Willamette Valley Vineyards.

Access to Justice:

Identify means by which the section can facilitate the use of the workers' compensation forum by practitioners and members of the public; educate lawyers, judges and those providing services to injured workers and employers regarding the potential impact of cultural differences upon use of the workers' compensation system.

Salishan/CLE:

Plan and coordinate the annual section business meeting and CLE. The 2009 annual meeting/CLE will again be held at Salishan Lodge on May 15-16.

Communications:

Monitor the development and production of the section's website and continue efforts in getting relevant practice information to all section members.

Douglas Daughtry Award Committee:

This committee is made of the most recent three past section chairs and meets to make recommendations to the full committee on the merit of nominations for the award. This committee will begin meeting in March 2009 to start accepting nominations and making recommendations to the full committee for the award, which, if given, will be presented at section's Annual Meeting at Salishan.

Go Forward Committee:

This newly-created committee focuses on the sustainability of our practice, including recruitment of new lawyers and expanding our practice area. Initial focus will be on recruiting law students. The committee will help prepare basic CLEs geared toward new members and develop a speakers bureau for lunch time talks.

Respectfully submitted: Holly J. Somers (CH), Matthew Lansing Roy (CH-Elect), Linh T. Vu (Past CH), Meg Carman (TR), Matthew M. Fisher (SEC), James L. Edmunson, Robert J. Guarrasi, Jacqueline M. Jacobson, Dale Johnson, Dean J. Lederer, Julie Masters, Charles R. Mundorff, Jill M. Riechers, Jennifer R. Roumell, Arthur Wilber Stevens III, Geoffrey G. Wren, Bette L. Worcester (BC), Suzanne Cushing (BL).