MINUTES OF THE WORKERS' COMPENSATION SECTION

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

OF JANUARY 13, 2012

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Dale Johnson called the Executive Committee (EC) to order at 12:10 p.m. at the Oregon State Bar office in Tigard, Oregon.

Committee members attending or absent were:

Exec Board Member	Present	Present	Absent	Comments
	in Person	by Phone		
Bloom, G. Duff			X	
Bohy, Ronald	X			
Cole, Norm	X			
Edmunson, James			X	
Fisher, Matthew	X			
Guarrasi, Robert	X			
Harrell, Tom			X	
Jacobson, Jacqueline	X			
Johnson, Dale	X			
Masters, Julie	X			
Oswald, John	X			
Rock, Douglas			X	
Schoenfeld, Steven	X			
Semple, Keith			X	
Sencer, Nicholas		X		
VavRosky, Dennis	X			

II. MINUTES

A motion was made and seconded to approve the EC Minutes of December 9, 2011. The motion passed.

III. CHAIR'S REPORT

Dale Johnson.

Chair Johnson proposed appointment of Carol Parks, General Counsel for the Department of Justice for a term beginning January 13, 2012 through December 31, 2012 to fill the open member position previously held by Jennifer Roumell. Members of the committee moved and seconded to approve Ms. Parks as a member. The committee voted unanimously to approve her appointment. Ms. Parks attended the remainder of the meeting.

Chuck Mundorff's family was approached to determine their preference when Chuck's work is recognized at the next Salishan conference, and they have not yet decided whether they would like to attend. The Salishan committee will discuss ways to honor ALJ Mundorff, including the possibility of renaming the Friday night reception.

Bill Replogle, Bob Yannity and Dale Johnson will look into obituary information for the Salishan materials for those section members who passed away in 2011, including Chuck Mundorff, John Ryan, and Ron Podnar.

We will continue to meet the second Friday of every month, beginning January 13, 2012. There will be no meeting in August, and the May meeting will be at Salishan.

Bill Replogle will provide a status report regarding the Access to Justice Committee. The report probably will be on February 10, 2012.

Chair Johnson named the following members of the sub-committees:

Salishan Committee:

Ronald Bohy (EC Liaison)
Linda Conratt (Chair)
Sally Curey
Jim Bailey
ALJ Jacqueline Jacobson
Rob Kinney
Alison Lesh
Sommer Tolleson
ALJ Geoffrey Wren

Communications Committee:

Julie Masters (Chair & EC Liaison)

Douglas Daughtery Award of Merit:

Matthew Fisher (Chair & EC Liaison)

Matthew Roy

ALJ Holly Somers

Legislative/Rules Committee:

Jim Edmunson (Co-Chair & EC Liaison)

ALJ Nicholas Sencer (Co-Chair)

David O. Wilson (Co-Chair)

Members to be determined at next EC meeting

[Jim Edmunson is the BOG legislative contact]

Bench/Bar Professionalism Committee:

Tom Harrell (Chair & EC Liaison)

Members to be determined at next meeting

Access to Justice Committee:

Bill Replogle (Chair)

Dale Johnson (EC Liaison)

ALJ Keith Kekauoha

ALJ Jenny Ogawa

ALJ Bruce Smith

David Runner

Michael Orlando

Kate Caldwell

Steve Schoenfeld

Aron Yarmo

Jovanna Patrick

Going Forward Committee:

Rodger Hepburn (Co-Chair)

Steve Schoenfeld (Co-Chair & EC Liaison)

Rob Guarrasi

Larry Schucht

Julene Ouinn

Krishna Balasubramani

New Technologies Committee:

Rob Guarrasi (Chair & EC Liaison) Julie Masters ALJ Holly Somers Ray Smitke

Nominating Committee:

Dale Johnson (EC Liaison) ALJ Jill Reichers Dean Lederer Phil Garrow

IV. TREASURER'S REPORT

Julie Masters.

The final budget/expense numbers for 2011 were not available yet. Based on the numbers available through November 30, 2011, revenue was a little lower than expected for Salishan and expenses were as forecasted. Section lost approximately \$1000 for 2011, with a \$13,000 positive balance.

V. COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. Salishan

Save-the-date e-mail went out to the section on January 10, 2012. The next meeting is scheduled for January 25, 2012. The contracts for 2015 and 2016 with Salishan have been forwarded to the bar for approval. Chair Johnson would like to invite Chair Conratt to come to the April 13, 2012 EC meeting to discuss the upcoming Salishan presentation.

B. Communications

Technical changes have been made to the section website. Chair Masters has not noticed a significant number of hits.

C. Daughtry Award of Merit

Given the current litigation potentially involving allegations against former ALJ Daughtry, the committee discussed possibility of changing the name of the award. Currently, no submissions for recipients have been received.

D. Legislative / Rules

No report.

E. Bench / Bar Professionalism Committee

No report.

F. Access to Justice

The letter approved by the EC to the WCD regarding use of interpreters at medical arbiter examinations has been sent.

G. Going Forward

The committee met during the first week of January 2012 to discuss putting on a couple of seminars at Willamette University and Northwestern School of Law of Lewis & Clark College. The presentation has been scheduled at Willamette for November 6, 2012, per Allen Lyons as adjunct professor. The committee is waiting for a response from Board Member Weddell regarding a date at Lewis & Clark, as she is the adjunct professor. The seminar will involve a replay of the movie made for the CLE held in October 2011, and an attorney panel to answer questions.

Chair Schoenfeld also discussed the OSB mentorship program, and suggested that the EC recommend participation to the section. Julie Masters agreed to talk to Sarah Hackbart about free memberships to new admittees.

H. New Technologies

Chair Guarrasi discussed progress of the Board's committee regarding changes to OAR 438.

I. Nominating

The committee is talking to potential new committee members for open positions and will report at the next meeting.

VI. OLD BUSINESS

Members were asked to respond only to the secretary when advising the committee of their potential attendance, or lack thereof, at the next EC meeting.

VII. NEW BUSINESS

No new business.

VIII. ADJOURNMENT AND NEXT MEETING

The Executive Committee Meeting adjourned at approximately 1:45 p.m.

The next meeting will be at 12:00 p.m. on February 10, 2012, at the Oregon State Bar office in Tigard.